LISD’s Dress Code Changes

21 Jun

Last week LISD changed it’s dress code and it was a much bigger story than I thought. In a nutshell, students can have whatever kind of hairstyle they want and whatever color they want. Boys can now wear earrings too. I didn’t know guys wearing earrings was still the “in” thing, and I still think it’s stupid but whatever.

Personally, I think this is a good move by LISD. Who cares if a kid has a mohawk or an earring? Who cares if a girl has purple hair? If that’s all a kid is doing in High School to act out, we should all be happy. Mohawks don’t distract kids in classrooms and neither do earrings. You know what is distracting? Bad teachers and bad parents.

People can complain all day that this new rule is another example of our society breaking down, but they are wrong. If you want that example, look at the homes that some kids come from. They aren’t distracted by hair, they are distracted because they live in a home with no food or the parents are never home or worse addicted to drugs.

Teachers have a tough enough job dealing with bad students or good kids who come from bad homes which turns them into bad students. Let the teachers teach instead of worrying about how someone is dressed. Remember, if the teacher thinks that the student is a distraction, they can still be removed.

I’ve only heard complaints about this new dress code from my conservative friends. The same friends that call for smaller government and for the feds to stay out of their lives. Yet, they want schools (government run) to tell kids how to dress. Odd. Shouldn’t the parents be the ones telling the kids what they can and can’t wear? I guess this is just another example of my crazy Libertarian side coming out.

Good job LISD.

5 Responses to “LISD’s Dress Code Changes”

  1. Bill C June 21, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    I’m conservative, I attended private school Pre-K through 12th grade, and I could care less about the changes to the dress code at LISD. Let’s see a little bit of that anger directed towards the system, both the educators and the parents, and not directed towards the color and shape of the student’s hair.

    Just my two cents.

    • Sheri June 21, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      It isn’t anger, Bill. It’s more akin to mourning. It’s a sadness expressed by some of us that the “defining deviancy down” trend expressed by Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan in 1993 just continues. When standards are lowered with each successive decade, the time will come when there are no standards at all. It’s a very sad thing to watch the society slide into an abyss. We aren’t directing anger toward the kids’ hair. We’re expressing disagreement with the educators and parents who don’t have the courage to set rules and enforce them, in other words, teach. (By the way, “I could care less” means that you do care. I believe you mean “I couldn’t care less.”)

      And I’ve spent my two cents.

  2. Gail June 21, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    The easy answer to everyone’s problems is to put them all in uniforms.

    • micoffey June 21, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      yea put them in uniforms so kids are suppressed and have no self expression. Um no!

  3. Kenny Ketner June 21, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    I agree with you, Chad. I think LISD’s new superintendent is getting a lot of things right, including this dress code change.

    Uniforms… I dunno. I went to a school with uniforms for most of my pre-college education. Wearing a uniform was ok, but I wouldn’t recommend it for everyone for a few reasons:

    1) Uniforms tend to be expensive.
    2) Wearing a uniform, you tend to stand out (and not always in a good way) whenever you’re off-campus. Feels awkward.
    3) Real life doesn’t have a uniform; wearing one puts you years behind the curve in terms of learning how to dress yourself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

