Callie Long Trial

12 Mar

What happened here? Callie Long was convicted of intoxication manslaughter in 2005 after running over bicyclist Brett Walrath with her car and then fleeing the scene in 2003.

Then in 2007 she was awarded a new trail and last month a new sentence was handed down, failure to stop and render aide. What happened then? Well she was given a probated sentence and 5 years of probation, for getting drunk and running over someone.

But that’s not all! Judge Underwood has now given her 60 days in jail…and she will be allowed to serve that time on the weekends. Again, after getting drunk and running over someone then fleeing the scene.

Is it just me or is this just wrong? If Callie Long was a Tech student, or someone not as well known or connected in the city her ass would still be sitting in a jail cell. I wasn’t in the court room, but from I can tell this is one of the most idiotic things I have ever heard of. Lubbock is harsher on dope heads and Tech students who party than this woman who KILLED a guy.

Do we all make mistakes? Sure, and I’m not trying to come off as all high and mighty as I’m sure I’ve gotten behind the wheel when I wasn’t supposed to. However, you are supposed to be responsible for your own decisions and yes even mistakes. I’m sure that Callie Long knew drinking and driving was a bad thing to do, so she accepted the consequences when she got behind the wheel. I’m no expert, but I’m sure you have to be pretty drunk to run over a guy on a bicycle while your driving a car and NOT know what you hit.

The City of Lubbock recently came out with a “Party Tip” brochure for Tech students. I wonder what if it says that if you get drunk and run over someone, don’t worry, it’s not your fault it’s the beer. You may only have to spend about 60 days in jail, and that’s ONLY if you flee. Yeah I don’t think it says that either, but that is what the sentence says. It’s not Callie’s fault, look at her. She is a victim of the alcohol! She did say she was sorry, so can’t we just go easy on her?

Justice hasn’t been served. I hope that the DA will go forward with other charges that they can bring forward.

Leave a Reply

